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Maine	
  Judicial	
  Branch	
  Fines,	
  Surcharges,	
  and	
  Assessments	
  
	
  
Criminal	
  fines,	
  surcharges,	
  and	
  assessments	
  
In	
  every	
  criminal	
  matter	
  the	
  following	
  surcharges	
  and	
  a	
  victims'	
  compensation	
  assessment	
  are	
  
added	
  to	
  the	
  amount	
  of	
  the	
  fine	
  set	
  by	
  the	
  judge.	
  There	
  are	
  additional	
  special	
  surcharges	
  for	
  
criminal	
  animal	
  welfare	
  offenses	
  and	
  operating	
  under	
  the	
  influence	
  offenses	
  as	
  set	
  forth	
  below.	
  
	
  
Fine	
   	
   	
   	
   	
   	
   	
   	
   set	
  by	
  the	
  judge	
  
	
   	
   	
   	
   	
   	
   	
   	
   	
   	
  
Surcharges	
   	
   	
   	
   	
  
	
   Government	
  Operations	
  	
   	
   	
   	
   +10%	
  of	
  the	
  fine	
  set	
  by	
  the	
  judge	
  

General	
  Fund	
  	
  	
   	
   	
   	
   	
  	
   +5%	
  of	
  the	
  fine	
  set	
  by	
  the	
  judge	
  
Maine	
  Criminal	
  Justice	
  Academy	
   	
   	
  	
  	
   +3%	
  of	
  the	
  fine	
  set	
  by	
  the	
  judge	
  
County	
  Jail	
  Operations	
   	
   	
   	
   +1%	
  of	
  the	
  fine	
  set	
  by	
  the	
  judge	
  

	
   Maine	
  State	
  Police	
  Computer	
  Crimes	
   	
  	
   +1%	
  of	
  the	
  fine	
  set	
  by	
  the	
  judge	
  
	
  
General	
  Victims'	
  Compensation	
  Assessment	
  
	
   misdemeanor	
  (class	
  D	
  or	
  E)	
  	
   	
   	
   +$20	
  
	
   felony	
  (murder,	
  class	
  A,	
  B	
  or	
  C)	
   	
   	
   +$35	
  

	
   or	
  
Special	
  Victims’	
  Compensation	
  Assessment	
  (instead	
  of	
  general	
  victims’	
  compensation	
  
assessment)	
  
	
   aggravated	
  sex	
  trafficking	
  (Title	
  17-­‐A,	
  §	
  852)	
  	
   +	
  $1000	
  
	
   sex	
  trafficking	
  (Title	
  17-­‐A,	
  §	
  853)	
   	
   	
   +	
  $500	
  
	
   engaging	
  a	
  prostitute	
  (Title	
  17-­‐A,	
  §	
  853-­‐B)	
   +	
  $500	
  (first	
  offense)	
  	
  
	
   	
   	
   	
   	
   	
   	
   	
   +	
  $1000	
  (second	
  or	
  later	
  offense)	
  
	
   patronizing	
  prostitution	
  of	
  a	
  minor	
  or	
  
	
   	
   of	
  a	
  mentally	
  disabled	
  person	
   	
   	
  

(Title	
  17-­‐A	
  ,	
  §	
  855)	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
   	
   	
   +	
  $500	
  (first	
  offense)	
  
	
   	
   	
   	
   	
   	
   	
   	
   +	
  $1000	
  (second	
  or	
  later	
  offense)	
  
	
  
Special	
  Surcharges	
  
	
   Animal	
  Welfare	
  Surcharge	
  
	
   	
   (Title	
  17,	
  §1011-­‐	
  §1046)	
   	
   	
   +10%	
  of	
  the	
  fine	
  set	
  by	
  the	
  judge	
  

	
  
Operating	
  Under	
  the	
  Influence	
  Surcharges	
  	
   	
   	
  

OUI	
  –	
  alcohol	
  only	
   	
   	
   	
   +$30	
  
OUI	
  –	
  with	
  drugs	
  involved	
   	
   	
   +$125	
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Civil	
  fines	
  and	
  surcharges	
  
In	
  every	
  civil	
  matter	
  the	
  following	
  surcharges	
  are	
  added	
  to	
  the	
  amount	
  of	
  the	
  fine	
  set	
  by	
  the	
  
judge.	
  There	
  is	
  an	
  additional	
  $10	
  surcharge	
  for	
  civil	
  animal	
  welfare	
  offenses	
  as	
  set	
  forth	
  below.	
  
	
  
Fine	
   	
   	
   	
   	
   	
   	
   	
   set	
  by	
  the	
  judge	
  
	
  
Surcharges	
   	
   	
   	
   	
  
	
   Government	
  Operations	
   	
   	
   	
   +10%	
  of	
  the	
  fine	
  set	
  by	
  the	
  judge	
  

General	
  Fund	
  	
  	
   	
   	
   	
   	
  	
   +5%	
  of	
  the	
  fine	
  set	
  by	
  the	
  judge	
  
Maine	
  Criminal	
  Justice	
  Academy	
   	
   	
  	
   +3%	
  of	
  the	
  fine	
  set	
  by	
  the	
  judge	
  
County	
  Jail	
   	
   	
   	
   	
   	
   +1%	
  of	
  the	
  fine	
  set	
  by	
  the	
  judge	
  

	
   Maine	
  State	
  Police	
  Computer	
  Crimes	
   	
  	
   +1%	
  of	
  the	
  fine	
  set	
  by	
  the	
  judge	
  
Civil	
  Legal	
  Services	
   	
   	
   	
   	
   +$10	
  

	
  
Special	
  Surcharge	
  	
  

Animal	
  Welfare	
  Surcharge	
   	
   	
   	
   	
  
	
   	
   (Title	
  7,	
  §3901	
  -­‐	
  §4163)	
   	
   	
   +$10	
  	
  

	
  
	
  
	
  

No	
  person,	
  agency	
  or	
  entity	
  should	
  rely	
  on	
  the	
  accuracy	
  of	
  the	
  information	
  offered	
  on	
  this	
  
page.	
  	
  The	
  information	
  contained	
  is	
  offered	
  for	
  the	
  convenience	
  of	
  the	
  public,	
  but	
  may	
  contain	
  
errors	
  or	
  omissions,	
  and	
  DOES	
  NOT	
  take	
  the	
  place	
  of	
  the	
  applicable	
  statutes.	
  	
  From	
  time	
  to	
  
time,	
  the	
  Legislature	
  may	
  make	
  changes	
  to	
  the	
  information	
  listed,	
  and	
  readers	
  must	
  consult	
  
the	
  actual	
  Maine	
  statutes	
  for	
  a	
  definitive	
  explanation	
  of	
  the	
  applicable	
  surcharges	
  and	
  assessments.	
  




