

STATE OF MAINE JUDICIAL BRANCH OFFICE OF THE STATE JUDICIAL MARSHAL

Augusta, Maine 04333

Criteria for the Application and Issuance of OJM Approved Identification Cards for Attorneys

Pursuant to Administrative Order JB-15-2 and in recognition of the status of attorneys licensed to practice law in the State of Maine as Officers of the Court, the Office of Judicial Marshals hereby issues the criteria for attorneys to gain authorization to bypass entry screening at the courthouses of the Maine Judicial Branch of government.

Attorneys licensed to practice in the State of Maine and in good standing with the Board of Overseers of the Bar may be issued a Maine Judicial Branch identification card by the Office of Judicial Marshals, which allows them to bypass entry screening if they meet the following criteria:

- 1.) have completed and signed the attorney identification card application form,
- 2.) have undergone a criminal history background check processed through the Office of Judicial Marshals,
- 3.) have paid the costs associated with the Identification Card Application process. (Completed Application to be returned with a one-time \$100.00 payment to the Office of Judicial Marshals at 171 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333 Tel #207-213-2882) Check payable to: Treasurer, State of Maine.
- 4.) have agreed to the requirements stated on the acceptance and acknowledgment form, which include
 - Complying with requirements of Administrative Order JB-15-2 with regard to not bringing weapons or other prohibited items into any courthouse;
 - Not allowing anyone else, under any circumstance, to use the identification card;
 - Not allowing clients, employees, or anyone else associated with the attorney to bypass entry screening by the attorney's use of the identification card;

- Acknowledging that the Judicial Branch reserves the right to cancel, suspend, limit or modify the terms of usage or renewal of the identification card at any time.
- That any violation of the criteria shall be cause for an immediate suspension of privileges. After 60-days of suspension you may apply to the Office of Judicial Marshals for re-instatement. Requests for reinstatement must be in writing and include a statement of why you believe your privileges should be reinstated. Applications for reinstatement will be reviewed on a case-by-case basis and the final determination will be made by the State Court Administrator. Following any unsuccessful request for reinstatement, I understand that I may reapply no more frequently than annually. There is no appeal from a decision regarding a suspension or reinstatement.
- 5.) have completed and signed the Acceptance and Acknowledgement form after the approval process is complete.

Attorney identification cards will be issued for a two year period, and are renewable for two years upon presentation of the Attorney Application, a certificate of continued good standing from the Board of Overseers of the Bar, a renewed background check, a signed Acceptance and Acknowledgment form, and payment of a \$25.00 renewal fee.