Judicial Branch Committee on Media and the Courts

Judicial Branch Committee on Media and the Courts (PDF)

Type: Standing Committee
Established: February 26, 2007

Revised: March 27, 2017
Chair: Justice William Stokes
Reports To: Supreme Judicial Court

I. Establishment of the Committee on Media and Courts:
A committee designated by the Supreme Judicial Court shall act as the Committee on Media and the Courts.  The Chair and members of the Committee shall be appointed by members of the Supreme Judicial Court.  The regular terms of membership on the Committee shall be three years, and no member shall serve more than three successive terms or until the appointment of their successor.

Five members of the Committee shall be representatives of the media, four shall be members of the judiciary, three shall be attorneys licensed to practice in Maine, one shall be a District or Superior Court clerk, other stakeholders as ordered by the Chief Justice, and serving in an ex officio capacity, the Attorney General, or designee, and the Judicial Branch Government and Media Counsel.

II. Committee Purpose:
The purpose of the Committee shall be to facilitate and improve communication between the judiciary and the media and to enhance the accuracy and flow of information made available to the public concerning the courts of Maine.  The Committee shall from time to time make recommendations to the Supreme Judicial Court on matters pertaining to media coverage of court proceedings.

III. Coordination and Cooperation with the United States District Court:
The Committee shall invite the participation of the United States District Court in its efforts to enhance the accuracy and flow of information made available to the public concerning the courts of Maine.                  

IV. Frequency of meetings:
One meeting shall be held per year, unless the Committee decides by majority vote to hold additional meetings.

V. Quorum and action:
A quorum shall exist for the purpose of the Committee’s exercise of its powers and duties when a majority of the members is present.  The concurrence of a majority of such members present shall be sufficient for any action taken.

Dated: March 27, 2017

Approved by:

Chief Justice Leigh I. Saufley
Maine Supreme Judicial Court

Judicial Branch Committee on Media and the Courts Membership Roster

Hon. William Stokes, Justice, Chair, Maine Superior Court  (Until April 21, 2022)
Hon. Robert Murray, Maine Superior Court (Until March 26, 2021)
Hon. Charles Dow, Judge, Maine District Court   (Until January 15, 2021)
Hon. Thomas E. Humphrey, SJC Liaison, Supreme Judicial Court

Dan MacLeod, Bangor Daily News  (Until December 18, 2022)
Judy Meyer, Sun Journal-Kennebec Journal-Morning Sentinel  (Until December 18, 2022)
Susan Sharon, Maine Public Broadcasting Network  (Until December 18, 2022)
Donald C. Carrigan, Gannett TV Stations  (Until December 31, 2020)
Jon Chrisos, WGME CBS 13/WPFO FOX 23  (Until January 15, 2021)                            

Licensed Attorneys:
Maeghan Maloney, District Attorney  (Until July 24, 2020)
Roger Katz, Attorney At Law, Augusta (Until December 31, 2020)
Tina Heather Nadeau, Esq., Executive Director MACDL (Until February 14, 2021)

District/Superior Court Clerk:
Eileen Bridges, Clerk of Courts, Knox County Courts  (Until April 21, 2019)                                                              

Francine Stark, Executive Director, Maine Coalition to End Domestic Violence  (Until January 15, 2021)
Elizabeth Saxl, Executive Director, Maine Coalition Against Sexual Assault  (Until January 15, 2021)                     

Members ex officio:
Laura Yustak, Assistant Attorney General
Amy Quinlan, Court Communication Government and Media Director (or designee)