Published Opinions of the Law Court

These opinions are subject to motions for reconsideration pursuant to Rule 14(b) of the Maine Rules of Appellate Procedure, and to revision and correction before final publication. Readers are asked to notify the Reporter of Decisions of any typographical, grammatical or other formal errors by U.S. Mail to Clerk of the Law Court, 205 Newbury Street, Room 139, Portland, ME 04101-4125, or by email to lawcourt.clerk@courts.maine.gov.

The permanent, official versions of Maine Supreme Judicial Court's opinions are those published in the Atlantic Reporter (2d Series and 3d Series), which has been Maine's official reporter since 1966.

Opinions have been published online since January 1997. Decisions published online should be cited in the following style:

Dutil v. Burns, 1997 ME 1,¶ 2, 687 A.2d 639.

 

Citations

Uniform Maine Citations

Uniform Maine Citations, which is published by the University of Maine School of Law and is updated annually, provides rules for the citation of Maine legal authorities, including judicial decisions, constitutional provisions, statutory and legislative materials, court rules, treatises, periodicals, and miscellaneous Maine authorities.

 

Opinions

Opinions published online since January 2006 are in pdf format. The free Adobe Acrobat Reader is necessary to view those opinions.

 

Previous years' opinions

 

 

This year's opinions

July 2020
Opinion # Case Date
2020 ME 96 Mark Tomasino et al. v. Town of Casco et al. July 7, 2020
2020 ME 95 Wilmington Trust, National Association v. Lisa Berry July 2, 2020

 

June 2020
Opinion # Case Date
2020 ME 94 Debbie H. Silverwolf v. Kathryn E. Colton et al. June 30, 2020
2020 ME 93 Matthew Pollack et al. v. Jessica Fournier June 25, 2020
2020 ME 92 State of Maine v. Andrew P. Bilodeau June 25, 2020
2020 ME 91 State of Maine v. Wai Chan June 18, 2020
2020 ME 90 State of Maine v. Marcus Asante June 18, 2020
2020 ME 89 State of Maine v. A.I. June 18, 2020
2020 ME 88 Dawn H. Haskell et al. v. State Farm Fire and Casualty Company June 11, 2020
2020 ME 87 In re Child of Louise G. June 9, 2020
2020 ME 86 In re Children of Jason C.
Revised June 23, 2020 (Errata sheet)
June 9, 2020
2020 ME 85 In re Children of Jamie P.
Revised June 23, 2020 (Errata sheet)
June 9, 2020
2020 ME 84 U.S. Bank, N.A. v. Duane C. Beedle et al. June 9, 2020
2020 ME 83 State of Maine v. Jonathan Limary
Revised June 23, 2020 (Errata sheet)
June 4, 2020
2020 ME 82 State of Maine v. Gregory P. McLaughlin June 4, 2020
2020 ME 81 State Tax Assessor v. Kraft Foods Group, Inc., et al. June 4, 2020
2020 ME 80 In re Children of Brandon D. June 4, 2020
2020 ME 79 TPR, Inc. v. Paychex, Inc. June 2, 2020
2020 ME 78 State of Maine v. Jessee Mackin June 2, 2020

 

May 2020
Opinion # Case Date
2020 ME 77 Ingrid Doyon, Trustee of the Oscar Olson Jr. Trust v. Joseph J. Fantini et al. May 28, 2020
2020 ME 76 Finance Authority of Maine v. Martin Grimnes, et al. May 28, 2020
2020 ME 75 Susan G. Colucci v. Stephen Colucci May 28, 2020
2020 ME 74 State of Maine v. Nicholas E. Westgate
Revised June 23, 2020 (Errata sheet)
May 26, 2020
2020 ME 73 Pamela A. Dobbins v. Mark J. Dobbins May 21, 2020
2020 ME 72 Daniel G. Raposa, Jr. et al. v. Town of York et al. May 19, 2020
2020 ME 71 Timothy R. Libby v. Kyle Estabrook
Revised June 23, 2020 (Errata sheet)
May 19, 2020
2020 ME 70 Friends of Lamoine et al. v. Town of Lamoine et al. May 19, 2020
2020 ME 69 State of Maine v. Sahal O. Hourdeh May 14, 2020
2020 ME 68 In re Children of Jacob S. May 14, 2020
2020 ME 67 In re Child of Shai F. May 12, 2020
2020 ME 66 In re Child of Stacy H. May 12, 2020
2020 ME 65 In re Child of Shem A. May 12, 2020
2020 ME 64 In re Child of Ronald P. May 12, 2020
2020 ME 63 In re Child of Jessica C. May 12, 2020
2020 ME 62 In re Child of Jasmine B. May 12, 2020
2020 ME 61 State of Maine v. Shawna Gatto
Revised June 23, 2020 (Errata sheet)
May 12, 2020
2020 ME 60 In re Child of Angela S. May 12, 2020
2020 ME 59 Steve Anctil Jr. v. Gladys Cassese May 12, 2020
2020 ME 58 In re Children of Alecia M. May 12, 2020
2020 ME 57 Delbert A. Reed v. Secretary of State
Revised June 23, 2020 (Errata sheet)
May 7, 2020
2020 ME 56 State of Maine v. David Mullen May 5, 2020
2020 ME 55 20 Thames Street LLC et al. v. Ocean State Job Lot of Maine 2017, LLC May 5, 2020


April 2020
Opinion # Case Date
2020 ME 54 In re Child of Jillian T.
Revised June 23, 2020 (Errata sheet)
April 28, 2020
2020 ME 53 State of Maine v. Ronald Paquin April 23, 2020
2020 ME 52 State of Maine v. Brett M. Catruch April 23, 2020
2020 ME 51 Richard Watson v. State of Maine April 21, 2020
2020 ME 50 Marla F. Bridges v. Christopher E. Caouette April 21, 2020
2020 ME 49 State of Maine v. Robert K. Lindell Jr. April 16, 2020
2020 ME 48 Wilmington Savings Fund Society, FSB v. David A. Abildgaard April 14, 2020
2020 ME 47 Todd E. Mathiesen v. Karie Ann (Mathiesen) Michaud April 14, 2020
2020 ME 46 Estate of Kendall W. Hatch Jr. April 14, 2020
2020 ME 45 MSAD 6 Board of Directors v. Town of Frye Island et al. April 14, 2020
2020 ME 44 Kathy S. Brown et al. v. Compass Harbor Village Condominium Association et al. April 9, 2020
2020 ME 43 State of Maine v. Gabriel J. Hansen April 7, 2020
2020 ME 42 U.S. Bank National Association v. Thomas Manning April 2, 2020
2020 ME 41 InfoBridge, LLC v. Chimani, Inc. April 2, 2020
2020 ME 40 Pat Doe v. Donald McLean April 2, 2020



March 2020
Opinion # Case Date
2020 ME 39 In re Involuntary Treatment of K. March 31, 2020
2020 ME 38 Toralf H. Strand v. Sabrina Velandry March 31, 2020
2020 ME 37 David F. Paquette v. Department of Corrections March 31, 2020
2020 ME 36 LaQuinn D. Evans v. State of Maine March 26, 2020
2020 ME 35 State of Maine v. Frank C. Sholes March 19, 2020
2020 ME 34 NextEra Energy Resources, LLC v. Maine Public Utilities Commission et al. March 17, 2020
2020 ME 33 U.S. Bank National Association v. Jim A. Gordon March 17, 2020
2020 ME 32 In re Children of Jessica J. March 12, 2020
2020 ME 31 In re Children of Richard E. March 10, 2020
2020 ME 30 In re Child of Amber D. March 5, 2020
2020 ME 29 In re Child of Whitney M. March 5, 2020
2020 ME 28 In re Child of Amelia C. March 5, 2020
2020 ME 27 Erik Wuori v. Travis Otis March 3, 2020

 

February 2020
Opinion # Case Date
2020 ME 26 AngleZ Behavioral Health Services v. Department of Health and Human Services February 27, 2020
2020 ME 25 Michael Wuestenberg et al. v. Harry J. Rancourt III et al. February 25, 2020
2020 ME 24 Rebecca W. Belanger v. Lisa M. Yorke February 25, 2020

 

January 2020
Opinion # Case Date
2020 ME 23 Roland Pushard III v. Riverview Psychiatric Center January 30, 2020
2020 ME 22 State of Maine v. Colby D. Conroy January 30, 2020
2020 ME 21 In re Child of Ryan F. January 30, 2020
2020 ME 20 In re Child of Brooke B. January 30, 2020
2020 ME 19 Attorney General v. John J. Sanford et al. January 30, 2020
2020 ME 18 Estate of David H. Washburn
Revised June 23, 2020 (Errata sheet)
January 30, 2020
2020 ME 17 State of Maine v. Bradley Williams
Revised June 18, 2020 (Errata sheet)
January 30, 2020
2020 ME 16 In re Child of Nicholas W. January 30, 2020
2020 ME 15 Sarah B. McLean v. Ian R. Roberston January 30, 2020
2020 ME 14 In re Children of James B . January 30, 2020
2020 ME 13 Adult Guardianship of L. January 30, 2020
2020 ME 12 State of Maine v. Randall J. Weddle January 28, 2020
2020 ME 11 State of Maine v. Ahmed M. Asaad January 28, 2020
2020 ME 10 Curtis S. Dow v. Robyn (Dow) Billing January 23, 2020
2020 ME 9 State of Maine v. P.S. January 23, 2020
2020 ME 8 Susan Hamilton v. Drummond Woodsum et al. January 21, 2020
2020 ME 7 Town of Gorham v. Susan Duchaine et al. January 21, 2020
2020 ME 6 A.I. v. State of Maine
Revised June 18, 2020 (Errata sheet)
January 21, 2020
2020 ME 5 Adoption by Stefan S. January 9, 2020
2020 ME 4 Valerie R. (Bishop-Martel) Winn v. Jean Martel
Revised March 31, 2020 (Errata sheet)
January 7, 2020
2020 ME 3 In re Child of Corey B. January 7, 2020
2020 ME 2 In re Child of Philip S. January 2, 2020
2020 ME 1 In re Children of Brittany B.
Revised April 14, 2020 (Errata Sheet)
January 2, 2020