Published Opinions of the Law Court

These opinions are subject to motions for reconsideration pursuant to Rule 14(b) of the Maine Rules of Appellate Procedure, and to revision and correction before final publication. Readers are asked to notify the Reporter of Decisions of any typographical, grammatical or other formal errors by U.S. Mail to Clerk of the Law Court, 205 Newbury Street, Room 139, Portland, ME 04101-4125, or by email to lawcourt.clerk@courts.maine.gov.

The permanent, official versions of Maine Supreme Judicial Court's opinions are those published in the Atlantic Reporter (2d Series and 3d Series), which has been Maine's official reporter since 1966.

Opinions have been published online since January 1997. Decisions published online should be cited in the following style:

Dutil v. Burns, 1997 ME 1,¶ 2, 687 A.2d 639.

 

Citations

Uniform Maine Citations

Uniform Maine Citations, which is published by the University of Maine School of Law and is updated annually, provides rules for the citation of Maine legal authorities, including judicial decisions, constitutional provisions, statutory and legislative materials, court rules, treatises, periodicals, and miscellaneous Maine authorities.

 

Opinions

Opinions published online since January 2006 are in pdf format. The free Adobe Acrobat Reader is necessary to view those opinions.

 

Previous years' opinions

 

 

This year's opinions

April 2020
Opinion # Case Date
2020 ME 43 State of Maine v. Gabriel J. Hansen April 7, 2020
2020 ME 42 U.S. Bank National Association v. Thomas Manning April 2, 2020
2020 ME 41 InfoBridge, LLC v. Chimani, Inc. April 2, 2020
2020 ME 40 Pat Doe v. Donald McLean April 2, 2020



March 2020
Opinion # Case Date
2020 ME 39 In re Involuntary Treatment of K. March 31, 2020
2020 ME 38 Toralf H. Strand v. Sabrina Velandry March 31, 2020
2020 ME 37 David F. Paquette v. Department of Corrections March 31, 2020
2020 ME 36 LaQuinn D. Evans v. State of Maine March 26, 2020
2020 ME 35 State of Maine v. Frank C. Sholes March 19, 2020
2020 ME 34 NextEra Energy Resources, LLC v. Maine Public Utilities Commission et al. March 17, 2020
2020 ME 33 U.S. Bank National Association v. Jim A. Gordon March 17, 2020
2020 ME 32 In re Children of Jessica J. March 12, 2020
2020 ME 31 In re Children of Richard E. March 10, 2020
2020 ME 30 In re Child of Amber D. March 5, 2020
2020 ME 29 In re Child of Whitney M. March 5, 2020
2020 ME 28 In re Child of Amelia C. March 5, 2020
2020 ME 27 Erik Wuori v. Travis Otis March 3, 2020

 

February 2020
Opinion # Case Date
2020 ME 26 AngleZ Behavioral Health Services v. Department of Health and Human Services February 27, 2020
2020 ME 25 Michael Wuestenberg et al. v. Harry J. Rancourt III et al. February 25, 2020
2020 ME 24 Rebecca W. Belanger v. Lisa M. Yorke February 25, 2020

 

January 2020
Opinion # Case Date
2020 ME 23 Roland Pushard III v. Riverview Psychiatric Center January 30, 2020
2020 ME 22 State of Maine v. Colby D. Conroy January 30, 2020
2020 ME 21 In re Child of Ryan F. January 30, 2020
2020 ME 20 In re Child of Brooke B. January 30, 2020
2020 ME 19 Attorney General v. John J. Sanford et al. January 30, 2020
2020 ME 18 Estate of David H. Washburn January 30, 2020
2020 ME 17 State of Maine v. Bradley Williams January 30, 2020
2020 ME 16 In re Child of Nicholas W. January 30, 2020
2020 ME 15 Sarah B. McLean v. Ian R. Roberston January 30, 2020
2020 ME 14 In re Children of James B . January 30, 2020
2020 ME 13 Adult Guardianship of L. January 30, 2020
2020 ME 12 State of Maine v. Randall J. Weddle January 28, 2020
2020 ME 11 State of Maine v. Ahmed M. Asaad January 28, 2020
2020 ME 10 Curtis S. Dow v. Robyn (Dow) Billing January 23, 2020
2020 ME 9 State of Maine v. P.S. January 23, 2020
2020 ME 8 Susan Hamilton v. Drummond Woodsum et al. January 21, 2020
2020 ME 7 Town of Gorham v. Susan Duchaine et al. January 21, 2020
2020 ME 6 A.I. v. State of Maine January 21, 2020
2020 ME 5 Adoption by Stefan S. January 9, 2020
2020 ME 4 Valerie R. (Bishop-Martel) Winn v. Jean Martel
Revised March 31, 2020 (Errata sheet)
January 7, 2020
2020 ME 3 In re Child of Corey B. January 7, 2020
2020 ME 2 In re Child of Philip S. January 2, 2020
2020 ME 1 In re Children of Brittany B. January 2, 2020