Published Opinions of the Law Court

These opinions are subject to motions for reconsideration pursuant to Rule 14(b) of the Maine Rules of Appellate Procedure, and to revision and correction before final publication. Readers are asked to notify the Reporter of Decisions of any typographical, grammatical or other formal errors by U.S. Mail to Clerk of the Law Court, 205 Newbury Street, Room 139, Portland, ME 04101-4125, or by email to lawcourt.clerk@courts.maine.gov.

The permanent, official versions of Maine Supreme Judicial Court's opinions are those published in the Atlantic Reporter (2d Series and 3d Series), which has been Maine's official reporter since 1966.

Opinions have been published online since January 1997. Decisions published online should be cited in the following style:

Dutil v. Burns, 1997 ME 1,¶ 2, 687 A.2d 639.

 

Citations

Maine Law Review: Uniform Maine Citations

Uniform Maine Citations, 2017-18 Edition, provides updated rules for the citation of Maine legal authorities, including judicial decisions, constitutional provisions, statutory and legislative materials, court rules, treatises, periodicals, and miscellaneous Maine authorities.

 

Opinions

Opinions published online since January 2006 are in pdf format. The free Adobe Acrobat Reader is necessary to view those opinions.

 

Previous years' opinions

 
 

 

This year's opinions

July 2019
Opinion # Case Date
2019 ME 111 Nancy J. McCandless v. John Ramsey et al. July 11, 2019
2019 ME 110 In re Child of Lacy H. July 11, 2019
2019 ME 109 Jane Doe v. Glen Plourde July 11, 2019
2019 ME 108 In re Child of Haley L. July 11, 2019
2019 ME 107 In re Child of Shaina T. July 9, 2019
2019 ME 106 In re Children of Matthew G. July 9, 2019
2019 ME 105 State of Maine v. Victoria Scott July 9, 2019
2019 ME 104 Town of Arundel et al. v. Dubois Livestock, Inc. et al. July 9, 2019
2019 ME 103 In re Child of Amey W. July 2, 2019
2019 ME 102 In re Child of Scott L. July 2, 2019

 

June 2019
Opinion # Case Date
2019 ME 101 Paul Schafer v. Meleah Schafer June 27, 2019
2019 ME 100 State of Maine v. Timothy D. Curtis June 20, 2019
2019 ME 99 Ignacio D. Roque v. State of Maine June 18, 2019
2019 ME 98 State of Maine v. Kevin M. O'Donnell June 18, 2019
2019 ME 97 State of Maine v. Burton B. Hagar June 18, 2019
2019 ME 96 First Financial, Inc. v. Peter E. Morrison et al. June 13, 2019
2019 ME 95 In re Child of Shannon S. June 11, 2019
2019 ME 94 In re Child of Raul R. June 11, 2019
2019 ME 93 In re Child of Dawn B. June 11, 2019
2019 ME 92 State of Maine v. Fabien A. Pelletier June 11, 2019
2019 ME 91 Board of Overseers of the Bar v. Jeffrey P. White June 11, 2019
2019 ME 90 Packgen, Inc. v. Bernstein, Shur, Sawyer & Nelson, P.A. June 6, 2019
2019 ME 89 Kathy J. Banks v. Patrick R. Leary June 6, 2019
2019 ME 88 William F. Gallagher v. Penobscot Community Healthcare et al. June 4, 2019
2019 ME 87 Tucker J. Cianchette et al. v. Peggy A. Cianchette et al. June 4, 2019
2019 ME 86 Cape Shore House Owners Association et al. v. Town of Cape Elizabeth et al. June 4, 2019

 

May 2019
Opinion # Case Date
2019 ME 85 Mark C. Klein v. Jessica A. (Demers) Klein May 30, 2019
2019 ME 84 Michael D. Holmes et al. v. Eastern Maine Medical Center et al. May 30, 2019
2019 ME 83 State of Maine v. Arno A. Bittues May 30, 2019
2019 ME 82 State of Maine v. Anthony Lord May 30, 2019
2019 ME 81 State of Maine v. Terrence N. Townes May 28, 2019
2019 ME 80 Portland Museum of Art v. Annemarie Germain May 28, 2019
2019 ME 79 Jay K. Gould v. State of Maine May 23, 2019
2019 ME 78 Jason Young v. Toni M. King May 21, 2019
2019 ME 77 Sydney A. TerMorshuizen et al. v. Spurwink Services, Inc. May 21, 2019
2019 ME 76 In re Child of Rebecca J. May 21, 2019
2019 ME 75 State of Maine v. Bruce Ouellette May 21, 2019
2019 ME 74 State of Maine v. Abdiaziz Hussein May 21, 2019
2019 ME 73 In re Child of Radience K. May 21, 2019
2019 ME 72 Jonathan A. Petgrave v. State of Maine May 21, 2019
2019 ME 71 Lisa Roalsvik v. Brett Comack May 14, 2019
2019 ME 70 In re Children of Jessica D. May 14, 2019
2019 ME 69 Josefine Bahn v. Mark Small May 9, 2019
2019 ME 68 In re Child of Shayla S. May 9, 2019
2019 ME 67 In re Child of Carl D. May 9, 2019
2019 ME 66 In re Child of Erica H. May 7, 2019
2019 ME 65 In re Children of Danielle F. May 7, 2019
2019 ME 64 In re Children of Anthony N. May 2, 2019
2019 ME 63 In re Children of Melissa S. May 2, 2019

 

April 2019
Opinion # Case Date
2019 ME 62 In re Children of Anthony L. April 30, 2019
2019 ME 61 State of Maine v. Cade H. Ayotte April 23, 2019
2019 ME 60 State of Maine v. Luc W. Tieman April 23, 2019
2019 ME 59 In re Children of Bethmarie R. April 18, 2019
2019 ME 58 State of Maine v. Matthew C. Reed-Hansen
Revised July 11, 2019 (Errata sheet)
April 16, 2019
2019 ME 57 In re Children of Christine A. April 16, 2019
2019 ME 56 In re Child of Peter T. April 16, 2019
2019 ME 55 Estate of John W. Gilbert April 11, 2019
2019 ME 54 Michael A. Lee v. Town of Denmark April 11, 2019
2019 ME 53 Laurie Allen v. Mark Rae April 11, 2019
2019 ME 52 In re Child of Megan D. April 9, 2019
2019 ME 51 State of Maine v. Daniel B. Tucci Sr. et al. April 4, 2019
2019 ME 50 Kimberly B. Scott et al. v. Fall Line Condominium Association April 4, 2019
2019 ME 49 State of Maine v. Amanda Bennett-Roberson April 4, 2019
2019 ME 48 Edward J. Harshman v. Sheila C. Harshman April 4, 2019

 

March 2019
Opinion # Case Date
2019 ME 47 Bartolo P. Ford v. State of Maine March 28, 2019
2019 ME 46 State of Maine v. Kevin Robinson March 28, 2019
2019 ME 45 Kenneth W. Ross et al. v. Acadian Seaplants, LTD.
Revised July 11, 2019 (Errata sheet)
March 28, 2019
2019 ME 44 State of Maine v. Michael G. Cunneen March 26, 2019
2019 ME 43 State of Maine v. Dwain A. Sykes March 26, 2019
2019 ME 42 Wilmington Savings Fund Society, FSB v. Matthew J. Needham et al. March 14, 2019
2019 ME 41 State of Maine v. David T. Brown March 14, 2019
2019 ME 40 John C. McGarvey v. Susan L. McGarvey March 12, 2019
2019 ME 39 In re Child of Amanda H. March 12, 2019
2019 ME 38 Robbie M. Nason v. Timothy Pruchnic et al.
Revised April 23, 2019 (Errata sheet)
March 12, 2019
2019 ME 37 State of Maine v. John M. Burbank March 7, 2019
2019 ME 36 Daniel R. Lawson v. Debby Willis March 7, 2019
2019 ME 35 State of Maine v. Robert Hansley March 5, 2019
2019 ME 34 In re Children of Tiyonie R. March 5, 2019
2019 ME 33 State of Maine v. Arthur J. Jones March 5, 2019
2019 ME 32 Donald G. Durkin v. Joyce L. Durkin March 5, 2019

 

February 2019
Opinion # Case Date
2019 ME 31 In re Children of Christopher S. February 28, 2019
2019 ME 30 State of Maine v. Jeffrey A. Cookson February 26, 2019
2019 ME 29 Daniel Raposa Jr. et al. v. Town of York et al. February 26, 2019
2019 ME 28 State of Maine v. Philip S. Fournier February 21, 2019
2019 ME 27 Jacob Berry v. Mainstream Finance February 21, 2019
2019 ME 26 Hearts with Haiti, Inc., et al. v. Paul Kendrick February 21, 2019
2019 ME 25 Petition of Edwin R. Jonas III for Reinstatement to the Bar of the State of Maine February 14, 2019
2019 ME 24 Adoption of Riahleigh M.
Adoption of MyAnnah D.
February 14, 2019
2019 ME 23 In re Patricia S. February 12, 2019
2019 ME 22 Adoption of Ivan M. February 12, 2019
2019 ME 21 Marcel Dubois et al. v. Town of Arundel et al. February 12, 2019
2019 ME 20 In re Children of Travis G. February 5, 2019

 

January 2019
Opinion # Case Date
2019 ME 19 Eric V. Warnquist et al. v. State Tax Assessor
Revised April 23, 2019 (Errata sheet)
January 29, 2019
2019 ME 18 John Sweet II v. Carl E. Breivogel et al. January 29, 2019
2019 ME 17 Sherwood Associates LP v. Olanian Jackson January 29, 2019
2019 ME 16 State of Maine v. Christopher W. Roy January 29, 2019
2019 ME 15 In re Children of Bradford W. January 29, 2019
2019 ME 14 In re Child of Jonathan D. January 24, 2019
2019 ME 13 In re Child of Nicholas G. January 24, 2019
2019 ME 12 York County et al. v. PropertyInfo Corporation, Inc. January 24, 2019
2019 ME 11 Tanya J. McMahon v. Christopher P. McMahon January 24, 2019
2019 ME 10 State of Maine v. Thomas Ferguson January 24, 2019
2019 ME 9 In re Children of Crystal G. January 24, 2019
2019 ME 8 Eric Ring v. Daniel Leighton v. Clinton McGaw January 22, 2019
2019 ME 7 State of Maine v. Wendy L. Gagne January 17, 2019
2019 ME 6 State of Maine v. Todd J. Perkins January 15, 2019
2019 ME 5 Danielle N. (Hashey) Cashman v. Jaison W. (Hashey) Robertson January 15, 2019
2019 ME 4 In re Children of Corey W. January 10, 2019
2019 ME 3 Littlebrook Airpark Condominium Association v. Sweet Peas, LLC, et al. January 8, 2019
2019 ME 2 In re Children of Mary J. January 3, 2019
2019 ME 1 In re Children of Shirley T. January 3, 2019