Published Opinions of the Law Court

These opinions are subject to motions for reconsideration pursuant to Rule 14(b) of the Maine Rules of Appellate Procedure, and to revision and correction before final publication. Readers are asked to notify the Reporter of Decisions of any typographical, grammatical or other formal errors by U.S. Mail to Clerk of the Law Court, 205 Newbury Street, Room 139, Portland, ME 04101-4125, or by email to lawcourt.clerk@courts.maine.gov.

The permanent, official versions of Maine Supreme Judicial Court's opinions are those published in the Atlantic Reporter (2d Series and 3d Series), which has been Maine's official reporter since 1966.

Opinions have been published online since January 1997. Decisions published online should be cited in the following style:

Dutil v. Burns, 1997 ME 1,¶ 2, 687 A.2d 639.

 

Citations

Maine Law Review: Uniform Maine Citations

Uniform Maine Citations, 2016-2017 Edition, provides updated rules for the citation of Maine legal authorities, including judicial decisions, constitutional provisions, statutory and legislative materials, court rules, treatises, periodicals, and miscellaneous Maine authorities.

 

Opinions

Opinions published online since January 2006 are in pdf format. The free Adobe Acrobat Reader is necessary to view those opinions.

 

Previous years' opinions

 

This year's opinions


June 2017
Opinion # Case Date
2017 ME 139 Mark I. Gessner v. State of Maine June 27, 2017
2017 ME 138 Greg Goodwill et al. v. Brian Beaulieu Jr. June 27, 2017
2017 ME 137 In re Skyler F. et al. June 27, 2017
2017 ME 136 Arthur Murdock v. Martin Thorne et al. June 27, 2017
2017 ME 135 In re Kaylianna C. June 27, 2017
2017 ME 134 In re Kaliyah B. June 27, 2017
2017 ME 133 In re Gabriel W. June 27, 2017
2017 ME 132 Jean Dupuis v. Stanley G. Ellingwood et al. June 27, 2017
2017 ME 131 In re Carol A. Boardman June 27, 2017
2017 ME 130 In re Mackenzie P. et al. June 22, 2017
2017 ME 129 In re Lacie G. et al. June 22, 2017
2017 ME 128 Homeward Residential, Inc. v. Marianne A. Gregor June 22, 2017
2017 ME 127 Patricia A. Chamberlain v. Linwood A. Harriman June 22, 2017
2017 ME 126 Acadia Resources, Inc. v. VMS, LLC, et al. June 22, 2017
2017 ME 125 Guardianship and Conservatorship of Vincent M. Jones June 20, 2017
2017 ME 124 Dorothy D. Black v. James A. Black June 20, 2017
2017 ME 123 State of Maine v. Andrew L. Seamon June 20, 2017
2017 ME 122 State of Maine v. Benjamin H. Hodgdon II June 20, 2017
2017 ME 121 In the Matter of Robert M.A. Nadeau June 20, 2017
2017 ME 120 State of Maine v. Franco A. Flores-Montecinos June 15, 2017
2017 ME 119 State Tax Assessor v. MCI Communications Services, Inc. June 15, 2017
2017 ME 118 Estate of Peter A. Turcic Sr. June 8, 2017
2017 ME 117 Kimberly A. Quinty v. Steven W. Johnson June 8, 2017
2017 ME 116 John Knoblach v. Stacylee A. Morris June 8, 2017
2017 ME 115 Petition of Edwin R. Jonas III for Reinstatement to the Bar of the State of Maine
Replaces 2017 ME 48 pursuant to Final Order on Motion for Reconsideration
June 8, 2017
2017 ME 114 Steven Wolfram et al. v. Town of North Haven et al. June 6, 2017
2017 ME 113 Kerry A. Johnson et al. v. Barbara C. Crane June 6, 2017
2017 ME 112 State of Maine v. Jacob L. June 6, 2017
2017 ME 111 Adriana M. Berntsen v. David L. Berntsen June 6, 2017
2017 ME 110 Richard M. Balano v. Town of Kittery et al. June 6, 2017
2017 ME 109 Conservation Law Foundation v. Public Utilities Commission et al. June 1, 2017
2017 ME 108 State of Maine v. Joshua T. Williamson June 1, 2017
2017 ME 107 Mika H. Lentz v. Nathaniel A. Lentz June 1, 2017

 


May 2017
Opinion # Case Date
2017 ME 106 XPress Natural Gas, LLC, et al. v. Woodland Pulp, LLC May 30, 2017
2017 ME 105 Wells Fargo Bank, N.A. v. Clara Welch-Gallant May 25, 2017
2017 ME 104 State of Maine v. Jesse P. Marquis May 25, 2017
2017 ME 103 State of Maine v. Dale E. Blier May 25, 2017
2017 ME 102 State of Maine v. Gary Mariner May 23, 2017
2017 ME 101 Nicky Pyle v. Robert Pyle
Corrected June 6, 2017 (Errata sheet)
May 23, 2017
2017 ME 100 Opinion of the Justices May 23, 2017
2017 ME 99 Dana Desjardins v. Michael Reynolds May 18, 2017
2017 ME 98 Teresa Sands v. Donald E. Thomas May 18, 2017
2017 ME 97 In re Paige L. May 18, 2017
2017 ME 96 In re Kayleigh P. et al. May 16, 2017
2017 ME 95 Wayne Knope et al. v. Green Tree Servicing, LLC May 11, 2017
2017 ME 94 Donald J. Williams v. Linda Williams May 11, 2017
2017 ME 93 In re Mya E. May 11, 2017
2017 ME 92 State of Maine v. Justin G. Pillsbury May 11, 2017
2017 ME 91 Pamela Haskell v. Dusty Haskell May 9, 2017
2017 ME 90 In re Jesse B. May 9, 2017
2017 ME 89 In re Daniel H. May 9, 2017
2017 ME 88 In re Mariah Y. et al. May 9, 2017
2017 ME 87 Norman Gaudette et al. v. Mainely Media, LLC et al. May 9, 2017
2017 ME 86 Norman Gaudette v. Terry M. Davis May 9, 2017
2017 ME 85 In re Tacoma M. May 9, 2017
2017 ME 84 State of Maine v. Michael J. Siracusa Jr. May 4, 2017
2017 ME 83 State of Maine v. Roger E. Grindle May 4, 2017
2017 ME 82 In re Ashlyn L. May 4, 2017
2017 ME 81 In re Isabelle W. May 4, 2017
2017 ME 80 Brian Danielson v. Yi Peng May 4, 2017
2017 ME 79 State of Maine v. Richard Griffin May 4, 2017
2017 ME 78 Marie Gunning v. John Doe May 4, 2017
2017 ME 77 In re River B. May 4, 2017
2017 ME 76 State of Maine v. Jacob A. Hinkel May 2, 2017

 


April 2017
Opinion # Case Date
2017 ME 75 State of Maine v. Nathan J. Lacourse April 27, 2017
2017 ME 74 State of Maine v. Lee Perry April 25, 2017
2017 ME 73 State of Maine v. Jason C. Cote April 25, 2017
2017 ME 72 In re Henry B. April 20, 2017
2017 ME 71 State of Maine v. Nathan P. Tarbox
Corrected April 20, 2017 (Errata sheet)
April 18, 2017
2017 ME 70 Joyce E. Mitchell v. Alexander S. Krieckhaus April 18, 2017
2017 ME 69 Elizabeth T. Jalbert v. Maine Public Employees Retirement System April 11, 2017
2017 ME 68 Green Tree Servicing, LLC v. Thelma J. Cope et al. April 11, 2017
2017 ME 67 John F. Murphy Homes, Inc. v. State of Maine April 11, 2017
2017 ME 66 In re Caleb M. et al. April 6, 2017
2017 ME 65 State of Maine v. Nicholas Sexton April 6, 2017
2017 ME 64 Amy L. Canney v. Strathglass Holdings, LLC April 6, 2017
2017 ME 63 State of Maine v. Nicholas W. Gagne April 4, 2017
2017 ME 62 Heidi Vibert v. Antonios N. Dimoulas April 4, 2017
2017 ME 61 Daniel L. Fortune v. State of Maine April 4, 2017
2017 ME 60 Edward J. Harshman v. Sheila C. Harshman April 4, 2017
2017 ME 59 State of Maine v. Dustin Brown April 4, 2017

 


March 2017
Opinion # Case Date
2017 ME 58 Estate of Rebecca L. Mason et al. v. Amica Mutual Insurance Company March 28, 2017
2017 ME 57 City of South Portland et al. v. Maine Municipal Association Property & Casualty Pool March 28, 2017
2017 ME 56 Aleshia D. Diviney v. University of Maine System March 28, 2017
2017 ME 55 Thomas M. Brooks v. John R. Lemieux March 21, 2017
2017 ME 54 Guardianship of Alisha K. Golodner
Replaces 2017 ME 31 pursuant to Order Granting Motion for Reconsideration
March 16, 2017
2017 ME 53 Town of Kittery v. James M. Dineen March 16, 2017
2017 ME 52 State of Maine v. Daniel A. Fox March 16, 2017
2017 ME 51 Estate of John R. Barron v. Shapiro & Morley, LLC, et al. March 16, 2016
2017 ME 50 Kenneth Cabral v. Danielle L'Heureux March 16, 2017
2017 ME 49 State of Maine v. Walter H. Renfro March 16, 2017
2017 ME 48 Petition of Edwin R. Jonas III for Reinstatement to the Bar of the State of Maine
Replaced on June 8, 2016, by 2017 ME 115 pursuant to Final Order on Motion for Reconsideration
March 16, 2017
2017 ME 47 Victoria S. Savage v. Steven B. Savage March 9, 2017
2017 ME 46 Osprey Landing, LLC v. First American Title Insurance Company March 9, 2017
2017 ME 45 In re Kenneth S. March 9, 2017
2017 ME 44 State of Maine v. Kenneth A. Jandreau March 9, 2017
2017 ME 43 State of Maine v. Daniel L. Chase March 9, 2017
2017 ME 42 David Bordetsky v. JAK Realty Trust March 9, 2017
2017 ME 41 Lorraine Scamman et al. v. Shaw's Supermarkets, Inc.
Corrected March 23, 2017 (Errata sheet)
March 7, 2017
2017 ME 40 Olland Reese v. State of Maine March 7, 2017
2017 ME 39 Laura A. Millay v. John E. McKay Jr. March 7, 2017
2017 ME 38 Denise K. Lynch v. Daniel G. Lynch March 7, 2017
2017 ME 37 In re Aubrey R. March 7, 2017
2017 ME 36 State of Maine v. Robert I. Boyd Jr. March 2, 2017
2017 ME 35 Claire Dean Perry et al. v. William T. Dean Jr. et al. March 2, 2017
2017 ME 34 In re Gracesun C. et al. March 2, 2017
2017 ME 33 State of Maine v. Bethany Hayward March 2, 2017

 


February 2017
Opinion # Case Date
2017 ME 32 JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A. v. Terrance B. Lowell et al. February 28, 2017
2017 ME 31 Guardianship of Alisha K. Golodner
Replaced on March 16, 2017, by 2017 ME 54 pursuant to Order Granting Motion for Reconsideration
February 24, 2017
2017 ME 30 State of Maine v. John P. Stevens February 16, 2017
2017 ME 29 John S. Zablotny v. State Board of Nursing February 14, 2017
2017 ME 28 State of Maine v. Walter A. Parker February 14, 2017
2017 ME 27 State of Maine v. Wallace W. Ames III February 7, 2017
2017 ME 26 In re Forest G. February 7, 2017
2017 ME 25 State of Maine v. Karl Maine February 2, 2017
2017 ME 24 Midland Funding LLC v. Mark Walton February 2, 2017
2017 ME 23 In re Logan M. et al. February 2, 2017

 


January 2017
Opinion # Case Date
2017 ME 22 Daniel R. Lalonde v. Central Maine Medical Center January 31, 2017
2017 ME 21 Janice W. Dunwoody v. Steven M. Dunwoody January 26, 2017
2017 ME 20 Bank of America, N.A. v. John Camire January 26, 2017
2017 ME 19 Kayla Doherty v. Merck & Co., Inc., et al. January 26, 2017
2017 ME 18 In re Cameron B. January 26, 2017
2017 ME 17 Estate of Merrill P. Robbins v. Chebeague & Cumberland Land Trust et al. January 26, 2017
2017 ME 16 Estate of Merrill P. Robbins v. Town of Cumberland et al. January 26, 2017
2017 ME 15 Gloria Carignan v. Paul R. Dumas Jr. January 19, 2017
2017 ME 14 Tammy J. Thorndike v. Jessica Ann Lisio January 19, 2017
2017 ME 13 State of Maine v. David L. Thompson January 19, 2017
2017 ME 12 Guardianship of Isabella Ard January 19, 2017
2017 ME 11 Conservatorship & Guardianship of Ann B. Thomas January 19, 2017
2017 ME 10 State of Maine v. Raymond N. Rourke III January 17, 2017
2017 ME 9 Jonathan M. Spinney Jr. v. State of Maine January 17, 2017
2017 ME 8 State of Maine v. Dana P. Lajoie January 17, 2017
2017 ME 7 Daniel E. Mutty v. Department of Corrections January 12, 2017
2017 ME 6 Hollie A. Beal v. Town of Stockton Springs January 12, 2017
2017 ME 5 In re Steven L. January 12, 2017
2017 ME 4 State of Maine v. Allen J. Cooper January 10, 2017
2017 ME 3 21 Seabran, LLC v. Town of Naples January 5, 2017
2017 ME 2 State of Maine v. William True January 5, 2017
2017 ME 1 Conservatorship of Emma January 5, 2017