Published Opinions of the Law Court

These opinions are subject to motions for reconsideration pursuant to Rule 14(b) of the Maine Rules of Appellate Procedure, and to revision and correction before final publication. Readers are asked to notify the Reporter of Decisions of any typographical, grammatical or other formal errors by U.S. Mail to Clerk of the Law Court, 205 Newbury Street, Room 139, Portland, ME 04101-4125, or by email to lawcourt.clerk@courts.maine.gov.

The permanent, official versions of Maine Supreme Judicial Court's opinions are those published in the Atlantic Reporter (2d Series and 3d Series), which has been Maine's official reporter since 1966.

Opinions have been published online since January 1997. Decisions published online should be cited in the following style:

Dutil v. Burns, 1997 ME 1,¶ 2, 687 A.2d 639.

 

Citations

Maine Law Review: Uniform Maine Citations

Uniform Maine Citations, 2017-18 Edition, provides updated rules for the citation of Maine legal authorities, including judicial decisions, constitutional provisions, statutory and legislative materials, court rules, treatises, periodicals, and miscellaneous Maine authorities.

 

Opinions

Opinions published online since January 2006 are in pdf format. The free Adobe Acrobat Reader is necessary to view those opinions.

 

Previous years' opinions

 
 
 

 

This year's opinions

April 2018
Opinion # Case Date
2018 ME 54 Anne M. McBride v. Jeffrey R. Worth April 19, 2018
2018 ME 53 Steve R. Anctil v. Department of Corrections April 19, 2018
2018 ME 52 Maine Senate v. Secretary of State April 17, 2018
2018 ME 51 In re Child of Portia L. April 17, 2018
2018 ME 50 In re Child of James R. April 10, 2018
2018 ME 49 Claudia Schulz v. Hendrik Doeppe April 5, 2018
2018 ME 48 Eric N. Fitzpatrick v. Arlene McCrary April 5, 2018
2018 ME 47 Deutsche Bank National Trust Company v. Jesse S. Eddins Jr. et al. April 3, 2018
2018 ME 46 Walter Melevsky III v. Secretary of State April 3, 2018
2018 ME 45 In re Child of Daniel Q. April 3, 2018

 

March 2018
Opinion # Case Date
2018 ME 44 Estate of Carroll G. Frye et al. v. MMG Insurance Company March 22, 2018
2018 ME 43 In re Child of Gustavus E. March 22, 2018
2018 ME 42 State of Maine v. Abdirahman H. Haji-Hassan March 22, 2018
2018 ME 41 State of Maine v. Keith Coleman March 22, 2018
2018 ME 40 State of Maine v. John A. Weckerly March 20, 2018
2018 ME 39 State of Maine v. Randy R. Marquis March 20, 2018
2018 ME 38 State of Maine v. Eric Bard March 15, 2018
2018 ME 37 State of Maine v. David L. Sullivan March 15, 2018
2018 ME 36 In re Child of Nuradin A. March 15, 2018
2018 ME 35 Kittery Point Partners, LLC v. Bayview Loan Servicing, LLC, et al. March 15, 2018
2018 ME 34 Jennifer L. Deah v. Tristan Cuthbert March 15, 2018
2018 ME 33 In re Children of Alice R. March 15, 2018
2018 ME 32 In re Child of Eric K. March 6, 2018
2018 ME 31 In re Child of Heather W. March 6, 2018
2018 ME 30 In re Child of Nicholas M. March 6, 2018
2018 ME 29 SAD 3 Education Association v. RSU 3 Board of Directors et al. March 1, 2018

 

February 2018
Opinion # Case Date
2018 ME 28 Bayberry Cove Children's Land Trust v. Town of Steuben et al. February 27, 2018
2018 ME 27 Frederick Olson et al. v. Town of Yarmouth et al. February 22, 2018
2018 ME 26 State of Maine v. Eric Nobles February 13, 2018
2018 ME 25 Melanie G. Boyd v. Edward W. Manter February 13, 2018
2018 ME 24 Victor S. Urrutia v. Interstate Brands International et al. February 8, 2018
2018 ME 23 Stacy B. (Greenleaf) Mooar v. Terry L. Greenleaf February 6, 2018
2018 ME 22 State of Maine v. Abdi A. Hassan February 6, 2018
2018 ME 21 State of Maine v. Betty L. French February 6, 2018
2018 ME 20 In re Corey T. February 1, 2018

 

January 2018
Opinion # Case Date
2018 ME 19 Adoption of Paisley January 30, 2018
2018 ME 18 In the Matter of Robert M.A. Nadeau January 25, 2018
2018 ME 17 State of Maine v. Macie N. Jones January 25, 2018
2018 ME 16 State of Maine v. Arder Prinkleton January 25, 2018
2018 ME 15 State of Maine v. Douglas Annis
Revised February 1, 2018 (Errata sheet)
January 25, 2018
2018 ME 14 State of Maine v. Daniel L. Chase January 23, 2018
2018 ME 13 In re Meena H. et al. January 23, 2018
2018 ME 12 In re Asanah S. January 23, 2018
2018 ME 11 In re Zarianna C. et al. January 23, 2018
2018 ME 10 Euphrem Manirakiza et al. v. Department of Health and Human Services January 23, 2018
2018 ME 9 In re James C. January 23, 2018
2018 ME 8 In re Emma S. January 23, 2018
2018 ME 7 In re Emma C. January 23, 2018
2018 ME 6 In re Dante C. et al. January 23, 2018
2018 ME 5 State of Maine v. Foster Bates January 23, 2018
2018 ME 4 In re Aurora M. et al. January 23, 2018
2018 ME 3 State of Maine v. Dylan Fulton January 18, 2018
2018 ME 2 In re Ballot Dispute in Election of Town of Winslow District 3 Town Councilor January 11, 2018
2018 ME 1 Estate of Stephen E. Libby January 9, 2018