Published Opinions of the Law Court

These opinions are subject to motions for reconsideration pursuant to Rule 14(b) of the Maine Rules of Appellate Procedure, and to revision and correction before final publication. Readers are asked to notify the Reporter of Decisions of any typographical, grammatical or other formal errors by U.S. Mail to Clerk of the Law Court, 205 Newbury Street, Room 139, Portland, ME 04101-4125, or by email to lawcourt.clerk@courts.maine.gov.

The permanent, official versions of Maine Supreme Judicial Court's opinions are those published in the Atlantic Reporter (2d Series and 3d Series), which has been Maine's official reporter since 1966.

Opinions have been published online since January 1997. Decisions published online should be cited in the following style:

Dutil v. Burns, 1997 ME 1,¶ 2, 687 A.2d 639.

 

Citations

Maine Law Review: Uniform Maine Citations

Uniform Maine Citations, 2016-2017 Edition, provides updated rules for the citation of Maine legal authorities, including judicial decisions, constitutional provisions, statutory and legislative materials, court rules, treatises, periodicals, and miscellaneous Maine authorities.

 

Opinions

Opinions published online since January 2006 are in pdf format. The free Adobe Acrobat Reader is necessary to view those opinions.

 

Previous years' opinions

 

This year's opinions


April 2017
Opinion # Case Date
2017 ME 75 State of Maine v. Nathan J. Lacourse April 27, 2017
2017 ME 74 State of Maine v. Lee Perry April 25, 2017
2017 ME 73 State of Maine v. Jason C. Cote April 25, 2017
2017 ME 72 In re Henry B. April 20, 2017
2017 ME 71 State of Maine v. Nathan P. Tarbox
Corrected April 20, 2017 (Errata sheet)
April 18, 2017
2017 ME 70 Joyce E. Mitchell v. Alexander S. Krieckhaus April 18, 2017
2017 ME 69 Elizabeth T. Jalbert v. Maine Public Employees Retirement System April 11, 2017
2017 ME 68 Green Tree Servicing, LLC v. Thelma J. Cope et al. April 11, 2017
2017 ME 67 John F. Murphy Homes, Inc. v. State of Maine April 11, 2017
2017 ME 66 In re Caleb M. et al. April 6, 2017
2017 ME 65 State of Maine v. Nicholas Sexton April 6, 2017
2017 ME 64 Amy L. Canney v. Strathglass Holdings, LLC April 6, 2017
2017 ME 63 State of Maine v. Nicholas W. Gagne April 4, 2017
2017 ME 62 Heidi Vibert v. Antonios N. Dimoulas April 4, 2017
2017 ME 61 Daniel L. Fortune v. State of Maine April 4, 2017
2017 ME 60 Edward J. Harshman v. Sheila C. Harshman April 4, 2017
2017 ME 59 State of Maine v. Dustin Brown April 4, 2017

 


March 2017
Opinion # Case Date
2017 ME 58 Estate of Rebecca L. Mason et al. v. Amica Mutual Insurance Company March 28, 2017
2017 ME 57 City of South Portland et al. v. Maine Municipal Association Property & Casualty Pool March 28, 2017
2017 ME 56 Aleshia D. Diviney v. University of Maine System March 28, 2017
2017 ME 55 Thomas M. Brooks v. John R. Lemieux March 21, 2017
2017 ME 54 Guardianship of Alisha K. Golodner
Replaces 2017 ME 31 pursuant to Order Granting Motion for Reconsideration
March 16, 2017
2017 ME 53 Town of Kittery v. James M. Dineen March 16, 2017
2017 ME 52 State of Maine v. Daniel A. Fox March 16, 2017
2017 ME 51 Estate of John R. Barron v. Shapiro & Morley, LLC, et al. March 16, 2016
2017 ME 50 Kenneth Cabral v. Danielle L'Heureux March 16, 2017
2017 ME 49 State of Maine v. Walter H. Renfro March 16, 2017
2017 ME 48 Petition of Edwin R. Jonas III for Reinstatement to the Bar of the State of Maine March 16, 2017
2017 ME 47 Victoria S. Savage v. Steven B. Savage March 9, 2017
2017 ME 46 Osprey Landing, LLC v. First American Title Insurance Company March 9, 2017
2017 ME 45 In re Kenneth S. March 9, 2017
2017 ME 44 State of Maine v. Kenneth A. Jandreau March 9, 2017
2017 ME 43 State of Maine v. Daniel L. Chase March 9, 2017
2017 ME 42 David Bordetsky v. JAK Realty Trust March 9, 2017
2017 ME 41 Lorraine Scamman et al. v. Shaw's Supermarkets, Inc.
Corrected March 23, 2017 (Errata sheet)
March 7, 2017
2017 ME 40 Olland Reese v. State of Maine March 7, 2017
2017 ME 39 Laura A. Millay v. John E. McKay Jr. March 7, 2017
2017 ME 38 Denise K. Lynch v. Daniel G. Lynch March 7, 2017
2017 ME 37 In re Aubrey R. March 7, 2017
2017 ME 36 State of Maine v. Robert I. Boyd Jr. March 2, 2017
2017 ME 35 Claire Dean Perry et al. v. William T. Dean Jr. et al. March 2, 2017
2017 ME 34 In re Gracesun C. et al. March 2, 2017
2017 ME 33 State of Maine v. Bethany Hayward March 2, 2017

 


February 2017
Opinion # Case Date
2017 ME 32 JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A. v. Terrance B. Lowell et al. February 28, 2017
2017 ME 31 Guardianship of Alisha K. Golodner
Replaced on March 16, 2017, by 2017 ME 54 pursuant to Order Granting Motion for Reconsideration
February 24, 2017
2017 ME 30 State of Maine v. John P. Stevens February 16, 2017
2017 ME 29 John S. Zablotny v. State Board of Nursing February 14, 2017
2017 ME 28 State of Maine v. Walter A. Parker February 14, 2017
2017 ME 27 State of Maine v. Wallace W. Ames III February 7, 2017
2017 ME 26 In re Forest G. February 7, 2017
2017 ME 25 State of Maine v. Karl Maine February 2, 2017
2017 ME 24 Midland Funding LLC v. Mark Walton February 2, 2017
2017 ME 23 In re Logan M. et al. February 2, 2017

 


January 2017
Opinion # Case Date
2017 ME 22 Daniel R. Lalonde v. Central Maine Medical Center January 31, 2017
2017 ME 21 Janice W. Dunwoody v. Steven M. Dunwoody January 26, 2017
2017 ME 20 Bank of America, N.A. v. John Camire January 26, 2017
2017 ME 19 Kayla Doherty v. Merck & Co., Inc., et al. January 26, 2017
2017 ME 18 In re Cameron B. January 26, 2017
2017 ME 17 Estate of Merrill P. Robbins v. Chebeague & Cumberland Land Trust et al. January 26, 2017
2017 ME 16 Estate of Merrill P. Robbins v. Town of Cumberland et al. January 26, 2017
2017 ME 15 Gloria Carignan v. Paul R. Dumas Jr. January 19, 2017
2017 ME 14 Tammy J. Thorndike v. Jessica Ann Lisio January 19, 2017
2017 ME 13 State of Maine v. David L. Thompson January 19, 2017
2017 ME 12 Guardianship of Isabella Ard January 19, 2017
2017 ME 11 Conservatorship & Guardianship of Ann B. Thomas January 19, 2017
2017 ME 10 State of Maine v. Raymond N. Rourke III January 17, 2017
2017 ME 9 Jonathan M. Spinney Jr. v. State of Maine January 17, 2017
2017 ME 8 State of Maine v. Dana P. Lajoie January 17, 2017
2017 ME 7 Daniel E. Mutty v. Department of Corrections January 12, 2017
2017 ME 6 Hollie A. Beal v. Town of Stockton Springs January 12, 2017
2017 ME 5 In re Steven L. January 12, 2017
2017 ME 4 State of Maine v. Allen J. Cooper January 10, 2017
2017 ME 3 21 Seabran, LLC v. Town of Naples January 5, 2017
2017 ME 2 State of Maine v. William True January 5, 2017
2017 ME 1 Conservatorship of Emma January 5, 2017