Published Opinions of the Law Court

These opinions are subject to motions for reconsideration pursuant to Rule 14(b) of the Maine Rules of Appellate Procedure, and to revision and correction before final publication. Readers are asked to notify the Reporter of Decisions of any typographical, grammatical or other formal errors by U.S. Mail to Clerk of the Law Court, 205 Newbury Street, Room 139, Portland, ME 04101-4125, or by email to lawcourt.clerk@courts.maine.gov.

The permanent, official versions of Maine Supreme Judicial Court's opinions are those published in the Atlantic Reporter (2d Series and 3d Series), which has been Maine's official reporter since 1966.

Opinions have been published online since January 1997. Decisions published online should be cited in the following style:

Dutil v. Burns, 1997 ME 1,¶ 2, 687 A.2d 639.

 

Citations

Maine Law Review: Uniform Maine Citations

Uniform Maine Citations, 2016-2017 Edition, provides updated rules for the citation of Maine legal authorities, including judicial decisions, constitutional provisions, statutory and legislative materials, court rules, treatises, periodicals, and miscellaneous Maine authorities.

 

Opinions

Opinions published online since January 2006 are in pdf format. The free Adobe Acrobat Reader is necessary to view those opinions.

 

Previous years' opinions

 

This year's opinions


February 2017
Opinion # Case Date
2017 ME 31 Guardianship of Alisha K. Golodner February 24, 2017
2017 ME 30 State of Maine v. John P. Stevens February 16, 2017
2017 ME 29 John S. Zablotny v. State Board of Nursing February 14, 2017
2017 ME 28 State of Maine v. Walter A. Parker February 14, 2017
2017 ME 27 State of Maine v. Wallace W. Ames III February 7, 2017
2017 ME 26 In re Forest G. February 7, 2017
2017 ME 25 State of Maine v. Karl Maine February 2, 2017
2017 ME 24 Midland Funding LLC v. Mark Walton February 2, 2017
2017 ME 23 In re Logan M. et al. February 2, 2017

 


January 2017
Opinion # Case Date
2017 ME 22 Daniel R. Lalonde v. Central Maine Medical Center January 31, 2017
2017 ME 21 Janice W. Dunwoody v. Steven M. Dunwoody January 26, 2017
2017 ME 20 Bank of America, N.A. v. John Camire January 26, 2017
2017 ME 19 Kayla Doherty v. Merck & Co., Inc., et al. January 26, 2017
2017 ME 18 In re Cameron B. January 26, 2017
2017 ME 17 Estate of Merrill P. Robbins v. Chebeague & Cumberland Land Trust et al. January 26, 2017
2017 ME 16 Estate of Merrill P. Robbins v. Town of Cumberland et al. January 26, 2017
2017 ME 15 Gloria Carignan v. Paul R. Dumas Jr. January 19, 2017
2017 ME 14 Tammy J. Thorndike v. Jessica Ann Lisio January 19, 2017
2017 ME 13 State of Maine v. David L. Thompson January 19, 2017
2017 ME 12 Guardianship of Isabella Ard January 19, 2017
2017 ME 11 Conservatorship & Guardianship of Ann B. Thomas January 19, 2017
2017 ME 10 State of Maine v. Raymond N. Rourke III January 17, 2017
2017 ME 9 Jonathan M. Spinney Jr. v. State of Maine January 17, 2017
2017 ME 8 State of Maine v. Dana P. Lajoie January 17, 2017
2017 ME 7 Daniel E. Mutty v. Department of Corrections January 12, 2017
2017 ME 6 Hollie A. Beal v. Town of Stockton Springs January 12, 2017
2017 ME 5 In re Steven L. January 12, 2017
2017 ME 4 State of Maine v. Allen J. Cooper January 10, 2017
2017 ME 3 21 Seabran, LLC v. Town of Naples January 5, 2017
2017 ME 2 State of Maine v. William True January 5, 2017
2017 ME 1 Conservatorship of Emma January 5, 2017