Published Opinions

These opinions are subject to motions for reconsideration pursuant to Rule 14(b) of the Maine Rules of Appellate Procedure, and to revision and correction before final publication. Readers are asked to notify the Reporter of Decisions of any typographical, grammatical or other formal errors by U.S. Mail to Clerk of the Law Court, 205 Newbury Street, Room 139, Portland, ME 04101-4125, or by email to lawcourt.clerk@courts.maine.gov.

The permanent, official versions of Maine Supreme Judicial Court's opinions are those published in the Atlantic Reporter (2d Series and 3d Series), which has been Maine's official reporter since 1966. Opinions published online since January 2006 are in pdf format.

To view PDF documents, you will need the free Adobe Reader. If you need assistance, view our PDF Help page.


2022 Published Opinions

Opinion # Case Date
2022 ME 45 Julie Beedle v. Duane Beedle August 11, 2022
2022 ME 44 Kim Boivin v. Somatex, Inc. August 9, 2022
2022 ME 43 Patrick R. Moran v. Whitney D. Moran August 9, 2022
2022 ME 42 Richard Ouellette v. Saco River Corridor Commission July 26, 2022
2022 ME 41 State of Maine v. Rondon Athayde July 5, 2022
2022 ME 40 Eric Badler v. University of Maine System June 28, 2022
2022 ME 39 Pat Doe v. Sam Roe June 28, 2022
2022 ME 38 29 McKown LLC et al. v. Town of Boothbay Harbor et al. June 28, 2022
2022 ME 37 Melanie Mayberry v. Charles Janosky II June 23, 2022
2022 ME 36 State Tax Assessor v. Tracfone Wireless, Inc. June 23, 2022
2022 ME 35 Timothy M. Convery et al. v. Town of Wells June 21, 2022
2022 ME 34 In re Weapons Restriction of J. June 21, 2022
2022 ME 33 Pat Doe v Rudy A. Lozano June 16, 2022
2022 ME 32 State of Maine v. Hillary Hemminger June 14, 2022
2022 ME 31 Zenda L. Fiske v. Paul B.D. Fiske et al. June 14, 2022
2022 ME 30 Estate of Albert Bean Sr. v. City of Bangor et al. May 31, 2022
2022 ME 29 City of Lewiston v. William Verrinder May 31, 2022
2022 ME 28 55 Oak Street LLC v. RDR Enterprises, Inc.
Revised June 9, 2022 (Errata sheet)
May 24, 2022
2022 ME 27 State of Maine v. Clifton Thomas May 17, 2022
2022 ME 26 Charles R. Maples et al. v. Compass Harbor Village Condominium Association et al. April 26, 2022
2022 ME 25 In re Petition of Gary M. Prolman for Reinstatement to the Bar of the State of Maine April 14, 2022
2022 ME 24 State of Maine v. John D. Williams April 12, 2022
2022 ME 23 Steven M. McKeeman et al. v. Christopher Duchaine et al. April 5, 2022
2022 ME 22 State of Maine v. Brent Croteau April 5, 2022
2022 ME 21 Sultan Corporation v. Department of Environmental Protection et al. April 5, 2022
2022 ME 20 General Marine Construction Corporation et al. v. Public Utilities Commission March 31, 2022
2022 ME 19 Maquoit Bay LLC et al. v. Department of Marine Resources et al. March 31, 2022
2022 ME 18 Lucas J. Sirois et al. v. Town of Rangeley et al. March 24, 2022
2022 ME 17 Karen S. Klein v. University of Maine System et al. March 15, 2022
2022 ME 16 Neal L. Weinstein v. Old Orchard Beach Family Dentistry, LLC et al. March 8, 2022
2022 ME 15 Darya I. Zappia v. Town of Old Orchard Beach March 1, 2022
2022 ME 14 In re Child of Kenneth S. February 17, 2022
2022 ME 13 Helge Riemann v. Kristina A. Toland February 15, 2022
2022 ME 12 Thomas Franchini v. Investor's Business Daily, Inc., et al. February 10, 2022
2022 ME 11 State of Maine v. Christopher Shepard February 3, 2022
2022 ME 10 State of Maine v. Carine Reeves February 3, 2022
2022 ME 9 Geoffrey S. Stiff et al. v. Stephen C. Jones et al. February 3, 2022
2022 ME 8 Patricia Sarchi, et al. v. Uber Technologies, Inc., et al. January 27, 2022
2022 ME 7 Teresa D. Needham v. Charles D. Needham January 27, 2022
2022 ME 6 Atlantic Home Solutions, Inc. v. Quang Pham January 25, 2022
2022 ME 5 Fortney & Weygandt, Inc. v. Lewiston DMEP IX, et al. January 20, 2022
2022 ME 4 Jackson Lumber & Millwork Co., Inc., v. Rockwell Homes, LLC, et al. January 13, 2022
2022 ME 3 Kyle Berounsky v. Oceanside Rubbish, Inc. January 11, 2022
2022 ME 2 Margaret Handlin v. Broadreach Public Relations, LLC January 6, 2022
2022 ME 1 Guardianship by Stacey M. January 6, 2022


Older Opinions

2016 and prior years' opinions will be available soon.

Citations

Opinions have been published online since January 1997. Decisions published online should be cited in the following style:
Dutil v. Burns
, 1997 ME 1, ¶ 2, 687 A.2d 639.

Maine Law Review: Uniform Maine Citations. Provides updated rules for the citation of Maine legal authorities, including judicial decisions, constitutional provisions, statutory and legislative materials, court rules, treatises, periodicals, and miscellaneous Maine authorities.